The Greatest Conversation

La Patere Rose, Who Needs the Accent Egu?

Posted in New Music by Brian Park on September 13, 2009

lapatererose

The French-Canadian band La Patère Rose keeps popping up all over the place. None of it really caught my ear until I heard this song: La Marelle; I bought the album and now song by song I’m starting to enjoy the rest of the album. Its catchy franco-pop with a squeaky cute singer/accordion player, a synth bro, and a drummer bro. They’re very forced Montreal-hipster, but they are a lot of fun.

La Patère Rose – La Marelle

I think these guys are somewhat a model for a successful pop group these days. They’re all good players, good looking, and well marketed. They can do electro, they can do post-punk, they can do bubblegum, and they still tap into the nostalgic “musique francophone” thing so I’m sure they’re fucking huge at home. They’re also practically begging to have some of their songs mixed into dancefloor movers (I recommend PaceMaker). The conversation has shifted from between the players to at the audience, to with the audience as a community of music users and modifiers.

La Patère Rose – PaceMaker

Oh also, did I mention that the band is fronted by a girl named Fanny Bloom? How amazing is that?

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. DavidLang said, on September 14, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    this is fun

  2. Kelli said, on January 2, 2015 at 2:54 am

    I told my grtoamndher how you helped. She said, “bake them a cake!”


Leave a Reply

