The Greatest Conversation

Autumn Mixtape

Posted in Mixtapes, New Music, Old Music by Brian Park on November 4, 2009


Here is a nice, self-indulgently moody mixtape for the fall weather. I’m not one to give you background music, so there are a few strange tracks in there, but I hope you enjoy it anyway.

The Greatest Conversation – Autumn Mixtape



1. Portishead – Deep Water

2. Marianne Faithful – Witches’ Song

3. DeVotchKa – This Place Is Haunted

4. Röyksopp – Silver Cruiser

5. Clark – Frau Wav

6. Elbow – Weather To Fly

7. Ralph Towner – Élan Vital

8. Kyle Eastwood – September Nights

9. The Swell Season – The Rain

10. Keith Caputo – The Girl I Love (Unfinished)

11. Strength in Numbers – No Apologies

12. Ólöf Arnalds – Englar Og Dárar


Volume From the Brits

Posted in New Music, Random Things by Brian Park on October 21, 2009


First off, the picture has nothing to do with anything; I couldn’t find a Brian Eno or Guy Harvey shot I liked. It is by Vitas Luckus, one of my favourite photographers. His book is out of print I think but goes for dirt cheap used these days. Highly recommended. But, I digress; listen to some music.

Brian Eno – Passing Over

Brian Eno’s music is often pretentious. Still, I love his work when he writes pop. This song is pretty cheesy when it’s quiet, but really fucking good when you have headphones on late at night and it’s loud. The production on it is amazing, which isn’t surprising; what is surprising is what he’s chosen to do with that production. The whole album, Another Day On Earth, sounds like arse on my computer/iPod/car stereo, but through proper speakers, when everything is coming through, it’s amazing. The heartbeat sub bass with that amazing piano line over it (2:02-2:25) is perfect.

Elbow – Grounds For Divorce

Changing gears, this is what rock and roll should be. I’ve rediscovered this album a few times this year, and I never get tired of the guitar sound on this song. Great lyrics too. Their liner notes say that there is little to no compression on this album. That means that the album—called The Seldom Seen Kid— is going to suffer if you’re playing it through your shitty iPod speakers too. Still, the production on this is a little more accessible than Eno.

{Audio may not play in some RSS feeds, visit site instead}